Markella Patounas – Selfie or SelfObsessed?

Selfies. Some call them stupid, others call it great.

First off, I would like to clarify my opinion. I personally believe that selfies are photos that capture points in time. Maybe that time when you decided to send a photo of an ugly face to your friend or that time you wanted to share how good you felt about yourself with the world. There simply isn’t one category of selfies. There’s an entire range; a subject that branches out. This type of photo may boost or lower your self-esteem. For different people, there’s a wide pool of feelings for these characterisations of expressing yourself. As long as you don’t overdo it, I’d reckon you’re fine.

Studies have found that edited selfies can lead to narcissism. Studies also found that posting copious amounts of unedited selfies (kinda overdoing it) can link with narcissism and psychopathy.

However, I also do believe that school students should be allowed phones with cameras. If the government manages to ban school students from phones with cameras, the entire country will turn into an overprotective mother. I imagine if I wasn’t allowed to capture a moment of myself with friends, I’d be pretty confused why parental control took this feature away from me.

sharkselfie

Leave a Reply

